​dr dre confirms new nwa-inspired album

Compton: A Soundtrack features Ice Cube, Kendrick Lamar, Jill Scott, Snoop Dogg and Eminem.

by Charlotte Gush
Aug 2 2015, 11:39pm

After hints were dropped by Ice Cube earlier in the week, we now have confirmation from Dr Dre himself that a new album -- his first in 16 years -- will come out on Friday 7 August. Dre made the announcement on his Beats 1 radio show, The Pharmacy, last night, explaining that the record was inspired by Straight Outta Compton, the upcoming NWA biopic.

"I was leaving the set, coming to the studio and I felt myself just being so inspired by the movie, that I started recording an album... and I kept it under wraps, and the album is finished," Dre revealed to the delight of his radio guests and fans the world. Dre added that, "It's an 'inspired by' album; it's inspired by Straight Outta Compton. We're going to call the album Compton: The Soundtrack". Watch the big reveal in the video, below, posted to Dr Dre's Twitter account:

The full track listing has now been revealed, and as promised by Dr Dre, "[Ice] Cube is on the album. Cube came in, he went bananas on the record. Kendrick Lamar is on the record. Eminem is on the record. Snoop Dogg is on the record." Jill Scott is also on the record, so we can't wait to hear that track.

01 Intro
02 Talk About It (Feat. King Mez & Justus)
03 Genocide (Feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
04 It's All On Me (Feat. Justus & BJ The Chicago Kid)
05 All In A Day's Work (Feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
06 Darkside/Gone (Feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
07 Loose Cannons (Feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
08 Issues (Feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
09 Deep Water (Feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10 Jon Connor - One Shot One Kill (Feat. Snoop Dogg)
11 The Game - Just Another Day (Feat. Asia Bryant)
12 For The Love Of Money (Feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13 Satisfiction (Feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14 Animals (Feat. Anderson Paak)
15 Medicine Man (Feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16 Talking To My Diary

You can listen to the full audio of Dr Dre's Beat 1 show The Pharmacy on iTunes.


Dr. Dre
Straight Outta Compton
compton: a soundtrack