david bowie and alessandro michele will be honored at the 2016 cfda fashion awards

The nominations are in.

by Tish Weinstock
Mar 17 2016, 2:26pm

Jason Lloyd-Evans

The nominations for this year's CFDA Fashion Awards were announced last night by Nadja Swarovski and CFDA President, Diane von Furstenberg, at New York's New Museum in front of a host of industry insiders. Most of the names were familiar. For Womenswear Designer of the Year there's Joseph Altuzarra, Marc Jacobs, Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough of Proenza Schouler, Kate and Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte, and last year's winners Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row. While Thom Browne, Public School's Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne, Rag & Bone's David Neville and Marcus Wainwright, Todd Snyder, and Tim Coppens are all up for Menswear Designers of the Year. There are also some first time nominees including Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia of Monse and Brandon Maxwell, who is a current LVMH Prize finalist. In a touching nod to the original starman, David Bowie will be honored with the Board of Directors' Tribute Award, while Alessandro Michele will be given the International Award. Winners will be announced at the CFDA Fashion Awards ceremony on June 6. While this year's host and Style Icon Award are still a mystery, you can have a gander at the rest of the nominees below.

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Proenza Schouler: Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez
Altuzarra: Joseph Altuzarra
Rodarte: Kate and Laura Mulleavy
The Row: Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen

Menswear Designer of the Year
Thom Browne
Public School: Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne
Rag & Bone: David Neville and Marcus Wainwright
Todd Snyder
Tim Coppens

Accessories Designer of the Year
Irene Neuwirth
The Row: Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen
Altuzarra: Joseph Altuzarra
Mansur Gavriel: Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel
Proenza Schouler: Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Monse: Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia
Brandon Maxwell
Ryan Roche

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Orley: Alex Orley, Matthew Orley, Samantha Orley
John Elliott
Gypsy Sport: Rio Uribe

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Brother Vellies: Aurora James
Paul Andrew
Gigi Burris

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Norma Kamali

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard
Imran Amed, editor in chief of The Business of Fashion

The Founder's Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert
Donna Karan

International Award
Gucci: Alessandro Michele

Board of Directors' Tribute Award
David Bowie

david bowie
alessandro michele
fashion awards