check out pharrell’s summery soundtrack for 'dope'

The track listing is packed with hip hop classics, features LolaWolf and lists four tracks by mystery band “Awreeoh”.

Jun 4 2015, 12:35pm

With Pharrell in charge, the soundtrack for the hotly anticipated hip hop high-school dramedy Dope, was always going to be super fun. Heavy on the old school hip hop, it features Rebel Without a Pause by Public Enemy, Scenario by A Tribe Called Quest and Hip Hop Hooray by Naughty by Nature.

Zoë Kravitz, who plays Nakia in the film, also features on the soundtrack with a track called Dirty Feeling by her band LolaWolf, and there are four tracks by mystery band Awreeoh. A bit of digging on Pharrell's social media feeds reveals that Awreeoh is the name of the film's fictional band.

Geeky trio Malcolm, Jib and Diggy - actors Shameik Moore (who found fame on the cartoon network), Tony Revolori (the bellboy from The Grand Budapest Hotel) and Kiersey Clemons (Transparent) - perform the happy-sounding tracks Can't Bring Me Down, Go Head, Don't Get Deleted and It's My Turn Now. The soundtrack does not appear to feature A$AP Rocky, who plays a drug dealer in the film.

Dope hits US theaters June 19.