raf simons and the olsen twins lead the cfda fashion award nominations

Forget the Oscars and Grammys: these are the awards we’re really waiting for.

by Wendy Syfret
24 March 2017, 2:38pm

Now that the carousel of film, TV, and music award ceremonies has paused, we can get stuck on the things that really matter — like fashion. This morning, the CDFA announced its 2017 nominees at a reception at Ramscale Studio. Chairwoman Diane von Furstenberg did the honors, spotlighting the brightest lights from the past 12 months.

The nominees are:

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Joseph Altuzarra, Altuzarra
Raf Simons, Calvin Klein
Marc Jacobs
Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler
Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year
Raf Simons, Calvin Klein
Robert Geller
Thom Browne
Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder

Accessories Designer of the Year
Stuart Vevers, Coach
Irene Neuwirth
Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel
Paul Andrew
Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent
Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock, Brock Collection
Gabriela Hearst
Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia, Monse
Virgil Abloh, Off-White
Sander Lak, Sies Marjan

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Rick Owens this year — a fitting reward considering the California-born designer is a four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner. The Founder's award will be received by makeup icon Pat McGrath, and new Zurich resident Demna Gvasalia will take home the International Award.

The Board of Directors' Tribute will be given to Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem and Janelle Monáe in celebration of their work around women's rights; and in a final bittersweet tribute, Franca Sozzani will receive the Fashion Icon Award posthumously.

Finally, a new title, Swarovski Award for Positive Change, will go to Kenneth Cole. The fresh category celebrates those in the industry who have worked to improve the wider community — a worthy addition considering fashion's growing interest in altruism. While the ceremony won't be held until June 5, we're sure all the nominees are already celebrating.


Text Wendy Syfret

Rick Owens
Calvin Klein
fashion news
Raf Simons
the row
cfda fashion awards
council of fashion designers of america