meet the young london designers selected for newgen 2017

Charles Jeffrey LOVERBOY, Halpern, Richard Malone, Wales Bonner, and Molly Goddard are among the 15 designers selected by the BFC to receive the NEWGEN support for the year ahead.

by Steve Salter
11 April 2017, 2:51pm

It's fitting that on the day we share the first peek insi-De our Creativity Issue — a partnership with photographer Tim Walker celebrating the new generation of fashion designers, models, artists, and musicians who make London tick — the BFC has also announced its epic NEWGEN news. Fifteen emerging designers will receive NEWGEN support for the year ahead.

Existing NEWGEN designers Cottweiler, Kiko Kostadinov, Liam Hodges, Phoebe English MAN, Marta Jakubowski, Molly Goddard, Paula Knorr, Sadie Williams, and Wales Bonner will all continue to receive support. In addition, Charles Jeffrey LOVERBOY, Halpern, Nicholas Daley, Richard Malone, and A-COLD-WALL* will receive NEWGEN support for the first time. This season's One to Watch support has been awarded to Central Saint Martins grad Richard Quinn. He'll be given exhibition space in the LFW Designer Showrooms at The Store Studios this September. The initiative's new format is focused on celebrating the incredible pool of design talent that bubbles out of the capital's cocktail of creativity. Drink up! 

"To be able to select NEWGEN for both womenswear and menswear side-by-side this year has given the scheme a panoramic overview of London's strength as a center-point of young innovation," Sarah Mower MBE, BFC Ambassador for Emerging Talent and Chair of the NEWGEN committee explains. "We have all been energized to see a surge of diverse talents from so many backgrounds whose focused individuality inspires us."

From Alexander McQueen to Simone Rocha, Christopher Kane to Christopher Shannon, and J.W.Anderson to Marques'Almeida, NEWGEN sponsorship has acted as a promotional launch pad for London's designers to go take on the world. Since its inception in 1993, it continually evolves and continues to excite. Here's to the Class of 2017. 


Text Steve Salter
Artwork @barbaracreative

Charles Jeffrey
fashion news
Liam Hodges
kiko kostadinov
richard malone
nicholas daley