Octavian x Obongjayar x Santi, & everything else you should listen to today

This playlist is your essential gui-De to the best new music.

by Frankie Dunn
24 April 2020, 12:24pm

What is this, a crossover episode? Game-changing London artist Octavian called on two of Nigeria’s most exciting young artists, Obongjayar and Santi, to join him on new single “Poison”. Produced by Take A Day Trip -- the duo behind tracks for Lil Nas X, AJ Tracey and Dua Lipa -- it’s taken from the Essie Gang founder’s forthcoming debut album due to follow mixtapes SPACEMAN and Endorphins. The Afrobeats-leaning track comes hot on the heels of 2020 collaborations with The Blaze on “Somewhere”, Skepta on “Papi Chulo” and Rihanna for Fenty’s new Social Club initiative. Phew, slow down mate.

“Poison”, we’re told, was inspired by a recent trip Octavian took to Nigeria, where he reconnected with his heritage and -- if the accompanying rather trippy music video directed by Crowns&Owls is anything to go by -- may or may not have experimented with psychedelics. See what we mean?

Also in our BEST NEW MUSIC playlist this week is James Blake’s first release of 2020, the very beautiful “You’re Too Precious” (if anyone feels like writing a song like this for us, that’d be nice thanks). More beautiful music now, this time from Jonsi. Yes, the Sigur Ros frontman and creator of everyone’s go-to in-flight music is back with his first solo single in a whole decade. “Exhale”, co-produced by A.G. Cook no less, is exactly the peaceful creation you’d expect it to be, made all the more magnificent thanks to a nudge in the direction of pop by the PC Music founder. There’s a lovely music video too, co-directed by Phoebe’s brother from Friends.

French NUXXE contingent Oklou shared her new True Panther release “SGSY” (She's Gonna Slaughter You, duh) yesterday in celebration of her birthday. Joyeux anniversaire, Marylou! And Charli “I’m going to make a whole album during lockdown” XCX has released the first song from the project. “Claws” doesn’t show any signs of having suffered from its creators' social distancing limitations. Produced by 100 gec’s Dylan Bradyy, it’s an addictive, euphoric burst of energy selected for release by Charli's Angels via poll and it’ll leave you with “I like, I like, I like” playing on repeat in your mind. We’re not complaining.

Of course that’s not all. There’s also incredible new music from Kali Uchis, Zsela, Earl Sweatshirt, Kelly Lee Owens, Maya Hawke, Juice WRLD, Dream Wife, Tony Njoku, sacha k and plenty more. Press play.