​the lobster, amy and aggy deyn all up for british independent film awards

Yorgos Lanthimos’s film, starring Colin Farrell, leads the charge.

by Colin Crummy
03 November 2015, 2:35pm

The Lobster leads the Moët British Independent Film Awards shortlist with seven nominations for film, director, screenplay, producer and three acting nods. There are six nominations each for 45 Years and Macbeth but The Lobster's real competition for the main prize of Best British Independent Film may come from Amy, Asif Kapadia's acclaimed documentary about the late singer. Amy, already the biggest documentary in British history at the box office, has garnered five nominations. It is shortlisted in the documentary, producer, editing and director categories as well. Rounding out the shortlist for best film is Ex Machina, Alex Garland's dystopian tale of artificial intelligence. The film's star Alicia Vikander is nominated in the best actress category but for another role as wife of real life trans pioneer Einar Wegener in The Danish Girl.

Vikander is up against Marion Cotillard (Macbeth), Carey Mulligan (Suffragette), Charlotte Rampling (45 Years) and Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn). In the leading men shortlist, Tom Hardy is nominated just once for doubling up as the Kray twins in Legend. Also nominated are Colin Farrell (The Lobster), Tom Courtenay (45 Years), Michael Fassbender (Macbeth) and Tom Hiddleston (High-Rise).

Newcomers on screen and behind the scenes are recognised too: most promising newcomers include Agyness Deyn for her role in Terence Davies's early 20th century drama Sunset Song; Mia Goth for The Survivalist, in which she plays a young woman hiding out in the forest in a totalitarian future; and Bel Powley who played a young Princess Margaret in A Royal Night Out. Also nominated are Abigail Hardingham for Nina Forever and Milo Parker for Mr Holmes.

The Douglas Hickox award, which honours best directorial debuts, includes first features from horror aficionado Corin Hardy (The Hallow) and former Beta Band member John Maclean (Slow West). Also nominated are Chris and Ben Blaine for Nina Forever, Paul Katis for Kajaki: The True Story and Stephen Fingleton for The Survivalist.

The winners will be announced at The Moët British Independent Film Awards on Sunday 6 December in London. Kate Winslet will be presented with the Variety Award, which honours those who have made a global impact with British film. Before then a selection of the nominated films will be screened across the UK from 23rd November in a programme to be announced on 11th November. More details here: www.bifa.film 

independent film awards