coen brothers, jake gyllenhaal and rossy de palma on cannes film festival jury

The panel of silver screen celebrities will select the international festival’s prize winning films.

by i-D Staff
22 April 2015, 12:59pm

The list of industry bigwigs chosen to sift the celluloid wheat from the cutting floor chaff at Cannes International Film Festival next month have been announced. The four women and five men are directors, actors and one composer.

Inside Llewyn Davis directors the Coen brothers are the jury Presidents, and are joined by fellow directors Guillermo del Toro (Pan's Labyrinth) and Xavier Dolan, actors Jake Gyllenhaal, Sienna Miller, Almodóvar favorite Rossy de Palma and Sophie Marceau, and composer Rokia Traoré. They're big names in film, but don't try to snap a selfie with them at the festival, as the organizers describe the smartphone phenomenon as "ridiculous and grotesque".

The jury are responsible for selecting the prize winning films, including the prestigeous Palme D'Or, which was won by Turkish film Winter Sleep last year and Blue is the Warmest Color in 2013. The full line-up of films has also been released and it includes Sundance hit Dope, featuring A$AP Rocky and Zoë Kravitz.


Photography Luigi and Daniele + Iango
Styling Jacob K
Hair Luigi Murenu using Kerastase Paris
Make-up Tom Pecheux using Estée Lauder
Special effects make-up Jane Choi
Nail technician Gina Edwards at Kate Ryan
Set design Nick des Jardins
Photography assistance Dean Dodos, Manfredi Gioacchini, John Law, Matt Roady, William Takashi, Leandro Justen
Retouching Didier Luk for +852
Black and white development Gianni Romano?for Fahrenheit studio
Colour development Chelsea Lab
Casting director Piergiorgio Del Moro
Production Tara Compton
Styling assistance Clemence Lobert, Sergio Meija,?Ruth Fish, Patricia Machado
Hair assistance Mari Watase, Gonn Kinoshita,?Sasha Nesterchuck, Helen Meconnen, Kayo Fujita, MIchael Silva, Serina Takei, Takayoshi Tsukisawa, Orie Shishido
Make-up assistance Kim Weber, Anoli, Samantha Lau
Nail assistance Jessica Washick
Set assistance Corey Bishop, Jonathan Irons
Special Thanks to Betti Iannucci, Alison Wedewer and Yuen Chan
Model Rossy De Palma