Image via YG Entertainment

BLACKPINK and Selena Gomez are serving up Ice Cream with their new single

Who said summer was over?

by Frankie Dunn
28 August 2020, 3:42pm

Image via YG Entertainment

It was back in 2018 that globe-conquering K-pop idols BLACKPINK featured on Dua Lipa’s “Kiss and Make Up”. Then, for her stunning Chromatica album back in May, Lady Gaga bagged the girls for her addictive single “Sour Candy”. It was only a matter of time before BLACKPINK scooped up a Western pop queen to guest feature on their own music. And reader, that time has come: Selena Gomez joins the girls in their candy-coloured wonderland for new single “Ice Cream” — the second release from their long-awaited debut album, due 2 October.

“I'm so excited!” Selena — who shares a US label, Interscope, with the YG Entertainment group — said of the collaboration on Apple Music last night. “The girls are so cool and I love their music. I just think that they have this thing about them.” They do indeed. Though the artists were originally planning to shoot the acid trip visual (currently sitting at 45 million views just 11 hours after going live) together, the pandemic relegated this new musical friendship to FaceTime. “We were very aware of her, we were big fans,” BLACKPINK said of Selena. “We had [the song] for a while, and we had the idea to have Selena on it, because we obviously knew she would fit into it right away.” Naturally, “Ice Cream” is the syrupy sweet treat opening this week’s playlist.

Elsewhere in new music, talented French elf Oklou has released her beautiful Galore EP, Samia dropped her debut album The Baby and Les Sins and pal AceMo joined forces on the innovative EP C’mon Les Go — the first release on the latter's well-named new label Sonic Messengers. Of course, we already told you all about Sevdaliza’s new album Shabrang (an “exploration of her subconscious”) and this Northeast Party House take on Cub Sport’s “Break Me Down” will be familiar, but pleasingly chopped and screwed.

Then there’s fresh stuff from Leikeli47, MF DOOM, Yves Jarvis, Tei Shi, dreamcastmoe, NSG, Kelly Lee Owens, Robyn’s only Konichiwa Records signing, Zhala, and more. Only the best for you!

Selena Gomez