watch the first music video from sleater-kinney’s new album ‘live in paris'

'The whole night was a great celebration of music, across cultures, bringing people together,' the riot grrrl legends wrote of their performance at La Cigale in Paris last year.

by Hannah Ongley
03 January 2017, 11:35pm


The time would never not be ripe for a new Sleater-Kinney album. But the election of a dangerous demagogue dressed in Cheeto dust has made cathartic new material from the riot grrrl legends more welcome than ever. Sleater-Kinney has just announced a raw new album titled Live in Paris, recorded at the group's career-spannnig gig at La Cigale in March last year. "The show in Paris was particularly special," Corin Tucker, Carrie Brownstein, and Janet Weiss wrote on Instagram today. "La Cigale is such a beautiful venue; the whole night was a great celebration of music, across cultures, bringing people together." The new album is out on January 27 via Sub Pop. 

Live in Paris is Sleater-Kinney's first album since last year's all-killer comeback No Cities to Love, recorded in secret in San Francisco after a decade-long hiatus. Two of the most pertinent tracks — "Price Tag" and "No Cities to Love," which tackle consumerism and atomic tourism respectively — will feature on Live in Paris alongside time-tested bangers like "Jumpers" and "I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone." Check out a new live video for "Surface Envy" below along with a full track list for Live in Paris

Live in Paris Tracklist:
01. Price Tag
02. Oh!
03. What's Mine Is Yours
04. A New Wave
05. Start Together
06. No Cities To Love
07. Surface Envy
08. I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone
09. Turn It On
10. Entertain
11. Jumpers
12. Dig Me Out
13. Modern Girl


Text Hannah Ongley
Image via Instagram

music news
live in paris