​william klein and jean-paul goude join the hyères festival jury

They join Martin Margiela, Helmut Lang, and Yohji Yamamoto as an impressive panel of judges at the fashion and photography festival.

by Stuart Brumfitt
04 February 2016, 6:30pm

Anaïs Boileau

The 31st Edition of the International Hyères Festival of Fashion and Photography has announced its full program, with William Klein as president of the photography jury and Paco Rabanne's Julien Dossena as president of the fashion jury. The annual festival, which takes place in the south of France, is a lesser-known part of the fashion and culture calendar, but a valuable place for the celebration and encouragement of young global talent. This year the house of Paco Rabanne is the guest of honor.

Klein will be joined by artist and Grace Jones collaborator/ex Jean-Paul Goude, as well as set designer Jean-Michel Bertin, curator Susan Bright, gallerist Christopher Littlewood, photographer Clare Strand, and Chantal Webber, founder and director of Webber Represents (London & New York). 

Meanwhile, Dossena will make the decisions alongside magazine creator Luis Venegas, creative director Marc Ascoli, artist Coco Capitán, designer Charlotte Chesnais, filmmaker Romain Gravas, designer Pierre Hardy, Heimat store founder Andreas Hoyer, Barney's fashion director Tomoko Ogura, critic Nicole Phelps, and artist Surkin.

There are 10 finalists in both the fashion and photography category, with seaside fashion shows and exhibitions in the modernist Villa Noailles, which was built in the 1920s by the architect Robert Mallet-Stevens for art patrons Charles and Marie-Laure de Noailles. It promises to be a heady mixture of top designers and photographers.

31st Edition of the International Hyères Festival of Fashion and Photography is up April 21 to 25, and the exhibitions runs until May 22.


Text Stuart Brumfitt
Image Anaïs Boileau

Jean Paul Goude
Martin Margiela
Paco Rabanne
Yohji Yamamoto
helmut lang
William Klein
Luis Venegas
charlotte chesnais
andreas hoyer
artist coco capitán
marc ascoli
nicole phelps
pierre hardy
romain gravas
tomoko ogura