steve lacy’s ‘n side’ and everything else you need to listen to today

Let our playlist be your indispensable gui-De to this week's new music.

by Alim Kheraj
12 April 2019, 1:03pm

Fresh off working on Solange’s When I Get Home and Vampire Weekend’s Sunflower, The Internet’s Steve Lacy is back with some new solo music and it’s aural equivalent of a hazy summer’s day spent roaming the park on edibles with your friends.

The track, N Side, is the first to be taken off not one but two upcoming albums from The Internet. In February, the band's Twitter account shared that two different members had been working on solo albums. Little more is known about the mysterious second album. For now, N Side is queued up on repeat.

Next up is Kevin Abstract, who this week shared the tringle (three singles) ARIZONA baby. We’ve picked Georgia, the final song of the trilogy, for the playlist. Interpolating Ray Charles’ song Georgia on My Mind, the song meditates on a number of topics, including the debate in America about school teachers carrying weapons on campuses, Abstract’s sexuality (natch) and the rise of his boyband Brockhampton. Whether these are a taste of a new solo album from Abstract is yet unknown.

What is known, though, is that Mark Ronson has done it again with his collaboration with Lykke Li, Late Night Feelings. It’s the title track from his upcoming album sure to be filled with melancholic bangers. Also back are Tame Impala, British R&B singer Sasha Keable’s smooth Treat Me Like I’m All Yours and new music from the late Lil Peep. Also, Hey Violet prove they're more than just 5 Seconds of Summer’s pet project on Better By Myself, newcomer Anna Sofia is a mean girl on her brilliant debut Meaner Girl and plenty more. Enjoy!

Kevin Abstract
Steve Lacy