gorillaz drops four new tracks, two videos, and announces an album release date

The virtual band returns, and is making up for lost time with a huge wave of incredible new projects.

by Wendy Syfret
24 March 2017, 3:01pm

After an absence of seven years, virtual heroes Gorillaz are finally back in a real way. Last night they announced that their next album, Humanz, will be out on April 28 through Parlophone Records. The record will feature appearances from Danny Brown, Benjamin Clementine, De La Soul, D.R.A.M., Peven Everett, Anthony Hamilton, Grace Jones, Zebra Katz — *pause to breathe* — Kelela, Mavis Staples, Vince Staples, Popcaan, Pusha T, Jamie Principle, Kali Uchis, and Savages's Jehnny Beth.

After waiting so long, they're not holding back with the reveals — they've also dropped a track list and several videos. The first is "Saturnz Barz (Spirit House)," a six-minute mini-film by band member Jamie Hewlett, that features four new songs: "Saturnz Barz," "Ascension," "Andromeda," and "We Got The Power."

Staying true to its reputation as a leader of inventive ways to use new technologies, the group has accompanied the film with an interactive 360 version, and has plans to drop a VR offering next month.

Humanz tracklist:

1. Ascension feat. Vince Staples
2. Strobelite feat. Peven Everett
3. Saturnz Barz feat. Popcaan
4. Momentz feat. De La Soul
5. Submission feat. Danny Brown & Kelela
6. Charger feat. Grace Jones
7. Andromeda feat. D.R.A.M.
8. Busted and Blue
9. Carnival feat. Anthony Hamilton
10. Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T
11. Sex Murder Party feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz
12. She's My Collar feat. Kali Uchis
13. Hallelujah Money feat. Benjamin Clementine
14. We Got The Power feat. Jehnny Beth


Text Wendy Syfret
Images courtesy of Parlophone Music

Damon Albarn
music news
Jamie Hewlett