​it’s a wrap: the winners of cannes 2015

A jury headed up by the Coen brothers wrapped up the Cannes Film Festival with a bunch of highly coveted prizes.

by Felicity Kinsella
26 May 2015, 9:04pm

It's been an eventful week of rumored lesbian love affairs, sexism on the red carpet, a feminist outrage, discussions on the pros and cons of booing, a teenage protest against cyber-bullying, and the world's most glamorous gathering of models at the amFAR Gala, but let's not forget what Cannes is actually about: cinematic offerings from all over the world.

The Festival's most coveted award is the Palme d'Or, and this year's competition jury - headed up by the Coen brothers and consisting of Guillermo del Toro, Jake Gyllenhaal, Xavier Dolan, Sophie Marceau, Rossy de Palma, Rokia Traoré and Sienna Miller - decided which of the 19 films would be worthy of the prize. Critic favorites included The Lobster, a comedy starring Rachel Weisz, Colin Farrell and Lea Seydoux where people must mate within 45 days or be turned into an animals; Carol, in which Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara have a lesbian love affair; and Son of Saul, a tale depicting the prisoners of Auschwitz, directed by Laszlo Nemes. But the artistically-minded jury eventually landed on Dheepan, a gritty drama directed by Jacques Audiard, that tells the story of three Sri Lankan refugees who pretend to be a family in order to gain asylum in France. The next best award, the Grand Prix went to Son of Saul, while Rooney Mara shared the Best Actress prize with Emmanuelle Bercot for her film Mon Roi.

See below for the full list of winners:
Palme d'Or: Dheepan, directed by Jacques Audiard
Grand Prix: Son of Saul, directed by Laszlo Nemes
Best Director: Hou Hsiao-Hsien for The Assassin
Best Actor: Vincent Lindon for The Measure of a Man
Best Screenplay: Chronic, written by Michel Franco
Camera d'Or (Best First Feature): La Tierra y la Sombre, directed by Cesar Acevedo
Best Actress: Rooney Mara for Carol and Emmanuelle Bercot for Mon Roi (Shared Prize)
Palme d'Or (Short Film): Waves '98, directed by Ely Dagher
Jury Prize: The Lobster, directed by Yorgos Lanthimos