the smiths announce new 7" with two unreleased tracks

Morrissey designed the cover art, featuring a vintage photo of 'Skyfall' and 'Erin Brockovich' actor Albert Finney.

by Hannah Ongley
30 November 2016, 8:13pm

One of many unfortunate side effects of the UK's exit from the European Union is the ruined possibility of a Smiths reunion. Following Morrissey's comments earlier this year that Brexit was "magnificent" and Nigel Farage a "political educator," Johnny Marr explicitly stated that his former bandmate's political views would be a "slight drawback" to the group getting back together, something which almost happened back in 2008. 

However, Smiths fans nostalgic for a not-quite-so divisive Mozza will be pleased to know that The Smiths are still releasing new music — or at least unreleased versions of old music. According to Morrissey fanzine True to You, the band has announced a 7" single containing a demo mix of "The Boy With the Thorn in His Side" and an unreleased version of "Rubber Ring." The cover art was designed by Morrissey, and features a black-and-white photo of English actor Albert Finney. Finney would later go on to star in Erin Brockovich, Big Fish, and the most recent James Bond film Skyfall. A release date has not been announced for the new record. 

For Smiths fans still irked by Morrissey's inflammatory statements, the band has two more unreleased tracks from its pre-Moz days. Kraak Therapy is a demo cassette of two lost singles that drummer Simon Wolstencroft recently stumbled across in his cellar, recorded by Wolstencroft, Marr, and bassist Andy Rourke as an experimental funk outfit naked Freak Party. 


Text Hannah Ongley

The Smiths
music news