meet the 26 designers nominated for the lvmh prize

From Alex Mullins to Astrid Anderson, Caitlin Price to Cottweiler, the nominees for the third annual LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers have been announced and i-D favorites figure highly among the contenders.

by Matthew Whitehouse
22 February 2016, 3:05pm

Competing for both a cash grant and a year long mentorship by the LVMH team, 23 shortlisted designers will now meet a panel of 41 international fashion experts including both Founder and Editor-at-Large of Business of Fashion, Imran Ahmed and Tim Blanks, photographer Juergen Teller and former i-D cover star, Natalia Vodianova. Eight finalists will then be presented to the Jury, made up of J.W. Anderson, Nicolas Ghesquière, Marc Jacobs, Karl Lagerfeld, Humberto Leon and Carol Lim, Phoebe Philo, Raf Simons and Riccardo Tisci, alongside Director and executive Vice President of Louis Vuitton, Delphine Arnault, Jean-Paul Claverie (advisor to Bernard Arnault and director of LVMH sponsorship) and Pierre-Yves Roussel (chairman and chief executive officer of the LVMH fashion division).

"In 2016, the LVMH Prize welcomes candidates from Japan, China, the United States, Canada, England, Finland, Germany and France, as well as Malaysia and Iran. This is what defines the singularity of the LVMH Prize: it is the first fashion prize that is completely international and digital, and which can bring together in Paris individualities of such diverse, original stylistic expressions" says Delphine Arnault.

Check out the nominees below:

Aalto, by Tuomas Merikoski. Womenswear.
Alex Mullins, by Alex Mullins. Menswear.
Alyx, by Matthew Williams. Womenswear.
Astrid Andersen, by Astrid Andersen. Menswear.
Brandon Maxwell, by Brandon Maxwell. Womenswear.
Caitlin Price, by Caitlin Price. Womenswear.
Cottweiler, by Ben Cottrell and Matthew Dainty. Menswear.
Facetasm, by Hiromichi Ochiai. Womenswear and menswear.
Feng Chen Wang, by Fengchen Wang. Menswear.
Koché, by Christelle Kocher. Womenswear and menswear.
Koike, by Yuko Koike. Womenswear.
Männistö, by Julia Männistö. Menswear.
Melitta Baumeister, by Melitta Baumeister. Womenswear.
Mikio Sakabe, by Mikio Sakabe. Womenswear and menswear.
Moto Guo, by Moto Guo.  Unisexwear.
Ms Min, by Min Liu. Womenswear.
Soshi Otsuki, by Soshi Otsuki. Menswear.
Vaqar, by Shirin and Shiva Vaqar. Womenswear.
Vejas, by Vejas Kruszewski. Womenswear and menswear.
Wales Bonner, by Grace Wales Bonner. Womenswear and menswear.
Wanda Nylon, by Johanna Senyk. Womenswear.
Xu Zhi, by Xuzhi Chen. Womenswear.
Y/Project, by Glenn Martens. Womenswear and menswear.

lvmh prize
long list