gorillaz drop four new tracks, two videos and announce an album release date

The virtual band return, and they’re making up for lost time with a huge wave of incredible new projects.

by Wendy Syfret
23 March 2017, 11:51pm

After what feels like a millennia of waiting — okay, it was seven years — virtual heros Gorillaz are finally back in a real way. Today they announced that their next album, Humanz, will be out on 28 April through Parlophone Records. The record will feature appearances from Danny Brown, Benjamin Clementine, De La Soul, D.R.A.M., Peven Everett, Anthony Hamilton, Grace Jones, Zebra Katz — *pause to breathe* — Kelela, Mavis Staples, Vince Staples, Popcaan, Pusha T, Jamie Principle, Kali Uchis and Savages' Jehnny Beth.

After waiting so long for this news, they're not holding back with the reveals — they've also dropped a track list and several videos. The first is Saturnz Barz (Spirit House), a six-minute mini-film by band member Jamie Hewlett, that features four new song: Saturnz Barz, Ascension, Andromeda and We Got The Power.

Staying true to their reputation as leaders of inventive ways to use new technologies, they've accompanied the film with an interactive 360 version, and have plans to drop a VR offering next month.

If you're in London tonight, you can complete the experience by checking the band play the whole album live. While the location is still secret, ticket info can be found here. Now excuse us, we need to sit down for a moment and absorb all of this.

Humanz tracklist:

Ascension feat. Vince Staples

2. Strobelite feat. Peven Everett

3. Saturnz Barz feat. Popcaan

4. Momentz feat. De La Soul

5. Submission feat. Danny Brown & Kelela

6. Charger feat. Grace Jones

7. Andromeda feat. D.R.A.M.

8. Busted and Blue

9. Carnival feat. Anthony Hamilton

10. Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T

11. Sex Murder Party feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz

12. She's My Collar feat. Kali Uchis

13. Hallelujah Money feat. Benjamin Clementine

14. We Got The Power feat. Jehnny Beth


Text Wendy Syfret
Images courtesy of Parlophone Music

Damon Albarn
Jamie Hewlett